Home > Uncategorized > HESilverLining – My story

HESilverLining – My story

Someone recently posted a comment asking who I (hesilverlining) am, and what my connection is to HE.  I am a patient with HE.

Two years ago I was a successful attorney.  Unfortunately, I experienced a rapid decline in memory and concentration late in 2010, and early in 2011 I began to have difficulty with word finding.  In February 2011 I had what co-workers thought must be a stroke while I was in the office.  I was evaluated at the local hospital for stroke, but no evidence of stroke was seen on MRI/CT.  I went home with a diagnosis of “complicated migraine.”

Over the next couple of months I began to find myself having more and more problems. I had amnesic episodes (took a vacation and had no recollection of it a week later).  My speech became impaired.  My memory became so faulty that I couldn’t be trusted to cook, even if I could manage to figure out the steps for making a meal because I would forget I was cooking and wander off, leaving things to burn.  My balance became impaired, I began to have nystagmus and episodes of double vision. I would regularly become extremely confused and disoriented.  I began having olfactory and auditory hallucinations.

I ended up hospitalized in April 2011, and a diagnosis of HE was made.  After five days of IV steroids I made a miraculous recovery, only to relapse during tapering after I came home.

I found this site during the course of my searching, and because the creator of the site – ScientistSeeking – was involved in other things she offered to let me take over day-to-day management of this site.  I now search the web every week for the latest scientific articles published about HE, and post links so that patients and medical professionals can easily find the latest information.  Because I can no longer function as an attorney I find that keeping the list of articles updated is a way to feel I am doing *something* positive with my moments of clarity.

So…that’s who hesilverlining is!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 9, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    Hi! I want to thank you for using your skills to help keep all of us updated – it must be a lot of work and it is very kind. Again, thanks so much. I have HE and it has been a struggle but I am grateful that steroid treatment allows me to function at around 50%. Melissa

  2. Pedro
    November 4, 2012 at 2:41 am

    This site was… how do I say it? Relevant!
    ! Finally I have found something which helped me. Kudos!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

